Some assembly required

assembly We all remember the old rhyme about sticks and stones… it’s followed by something about how words will never hurt us. But just like the pen is mightier than the sword, words carry the power to tear a person down or build him up.

Words make kings of men and men of gods. Words can kill, maim and injure. The war on terror is a losing battle because we are all given a weapon of mass destruction at birth. One look at the news and you can see how words kill people, not just in America but all over the world. The right words can save a life or end it.

But we never fight the war on terror when it comes to that. No we shame the victims of it instead. You’re depressed, here’s a pill. You can’t focus, here’s a pill. You have the attention span of a 4 year old and you’re already 48 months old here’s a pill.

Of course you gladly take the pill, oh you want the relief it promises, the shiny wrapper giving you hopes of better days than past. That bottle filled with tiny capsules full of sunshine to end the darkness.

They don’t tell you it’s a game, medication roulette. Like playing Russian roulette with all but one chamber loaded. Then the side effects come, suddenly you don’t care anymore. Things don’t seem important so you just sit on the couch until the day ends and you go to bed then repeat. Why not, that isn’t so bad.

Of course taking medication is like being gay. You shouldn’t be shamed for either yet we are, stuck in the closet like it’s a choice to be this way. Like tomorrow if you just wake up with happy thoughts that will be the end of it all! Of course, when that doesn’t work you aren’t trying hard enough.

Then you turn to the pills. You want this pill, well we are going to make you feel bad for wanting it. Like giving a obese person cake then making fun of them for taking it. Trauma changes us, you can actually see it on a CT scan, visible changes to the brain pre PTSD and post. A permanent physical change to who you are.

Words, they stick around, ugly, fat, scrawny, it shapes your life. You start to see what they want you to see and less of what is really there. But no one stops the bully. They just ‘take care’ of the bullied.

Kids will be kids, the aftermath of which you deal with as an adult. When did childhood become a war just to come out normal and why is it that the people who aren’t so lucky have to try to work so hard just to fake ‘normal’ which is where we should pretty much start from at birth.

The squeaky wheel gets the grease or so they say. Well if that is true then the broken person gets the pill. So you hope that it will somehow pick  up the pieces of you and put you back together.You hope beyond hope because you are tired of being broken, tired of not being a whole person, tired of wearing a mask, just… tired.

Meanwhile, you are left wondering why when you were born they didn’t just include in the instruction manual:

Some assembly required

12 responses to “Some assembly required

  1. So true. As much as I fantasize about a Utopia where the old philosophies that taught you can choose to be happy and practices like Tai Chi can heal a person from the inside out, the pharmaceutical companies will win from here on out. The mighty dollar and all…

    • Thank you, I don’t mind the idea of medication so much. I just wish it wasn’t a guessing game and that you didn’t get shamed for going that route.

      • I remember feeling as though I’d failed at life when I went on anti-depressants so I know where you’re coming from. I still think half the guessing game comes from the kickbacks the doctors get for prescribing the drugs though. I sometimes wonder if they give you the one that’s the most expensive first and work from there… but that could be my paranoia talking 😛

        • No, I think you are right. I don’t think the Docs themselves get kickbacks but I do think they push the flavor of the month on people. I remember when I was prescribed ambien for the first time the Doc sounded like an ad, ‘this is the number 1 sleep aide prescribed by Doctors’. Any side effects? ‘Number 1 sleep aide…’ haha

  2. As someone on numerous meds including antidepressants I can relate. Also, to the shame factor, in admitting that you need help, sort of. And side effects… you end up taking drugs to counteract side effects of other drugs etc etc and before you know it you’re rattling around. And, well, most of my meds I cannot come off, so am on them for life. Not sure if and when I will be coming off antidepressants but I’m not supposed to be on them forever. I don’t think it’s a good idea for me to try yet coming off just yet.

    And words. It is the words of someone I trusted that are hurting me now, so much, like you wouldn’t believe. Whoever came up with that expression obviously didn’t have any sort of self-esteem issues.

    And permanent physical changes in the brain, so true, spot on. In fact so spot on I think I’ll reblog this post.

    And another hug from me to you.

    Your other post I just read, it makes me so incredibly sad. I am so sorry to hear of all of it.

    And give a hug to Mr & Mrs Hippo as well.

    • Thank you so much, you’ve been a big help and a real blessing since we’ve met. Thank you for sharing that with me and thank you for the reblog. I will be hugging a certain pair of hippos just for you! 🙂

What are your thoughts?

