Family

torn-family

How do you define something
You do not know
Something
You never knew

How do you know
You have what you seek
When you do not know
How to write about it

What do you tell
A child
Who was
Unwanted

How do you explain
Family
How do you
Give
What was never
Received

Family
Such a complex
Fantasy
Wanting people
To be things
They never were

Wanting love
For nothing
In return
Unconditional
Love

My father
I am different
Now
You can trust me
Now
Give me a chance
Lies

I bought them
I believed them
I was naïve enough
To believe he was
Family
Pretty little words
But
That was all

I wanted so badly
So badly
To believe
He was who
I wanted him
To be
But he was not

A shadow
An illusion
I saw
What I wanted
I got
What I knew
I would

Family
How do you have
Family
When you are
Unwanted
Unloved

How do you have
Family
When you are
A burden

It took me
Far too long
To know
That I do have
Family
Family that
Loves me
Always

She is sitting
Across from me
My only real
Family

Family
Such a funny idea
But one I knew
When I saw it

Family
It came so late
But better late
Than never
My family
MY family

I have a person
My person
I love her
She is my family
I am hers

Family-less
Until we
Found
Each other

Our family
I truly hope
She knows
Too
That we are
Family

Our family

3 responses to “Family

What are your thoughts?

