Weekly writing challenge: Backwards, The last conversation

‘Never call me again.’ My father said, the anger dripping off every word
‘HAHAHAHA!!’ It was the only thing I could do in reaction, laugh like a madman.

‘Don’t you dare ever talk to me.’ He continued ‘You don’t know what you’re fucking talking about.’ Then the click, he hung up.

I was still laughing.

That was the last conversation I would ever have with the devil, my father. It’s amazing how one person can ruin someone’s whole reality.

Over the summer not too long ago I found the urge again to try to hunt down my Mother. This would happen every few years and after dead ends I would bide my time and try again in the hopes that she surfaced.

A quick phone call to my grandmother, who is dying a slow and painful death [thankfully] gave me more information than she had given in the past. She was dying, there was no shame in telling the truth, for the most part, now.

‘So why did Ed’s first wife leave?’ I ask my grandmother [I always refer to my father by his name, since he is not my father as far as I am concerned]
‘Oh he beat the hell out of her.’ She said in that matter of fact candor that you can only help but laugh at when someone says something so outrageous.

After I got off the phone, I found out that I had a half brother from my Moms first marriage, something I had never known. I also have two half brothers from my father’s first marriage, which makes me wonder why my father kept reproducing. You’re probably thinking well what about your Mom?

The difference?

My mother married a man who was from Greece, he took their child overseas to visit family and never returned. My father abandon his first children, his excuse, ‘They know how to get ahold of me.’

‘So what is your first wifes name?’ I ask
Silence… ‘No’ he said

‘No?’ I respond confused
‘I’m not telling you that, ask your grandmother if you want to know.’ My typical fathers response

Thanks to the valiant efforts of people in my life [you know who you are and thank you from the bottom of my heart] I turned up some leads. My Aunt Cheryl, she would be my in to the family on my Moms side.

Finding her would not be easy, I would successfully locate my Greek half brother before I found her. But found her we did.

Not only did we find her, but she had a story to tell, one I was dying to hear. What happened to my Mom…

‘She went crazy.’ Her answer to my email came quicker than I had thought. ‘Ed’s first wife did too, mental illness doesn’t run in our family so you have to think what came first the mental illness or Ed.’ I had a feeling that was the case, knowing what I know of him and the few years [thankfully] that I lived with him in my life.

She waited in our old place for a priest to come and take her away. Ed threw bleach on everything she owned, anything he didn’t want. That was typical, actually it was a little nicer than I  would have thought. My Aunt, her step sister, would come to take her away from that house, she was right where Ed had left her, no money, no food, nothing. Still, she was sure a priest was going to come for her.

One day my Mom vanished with a man she had met, never to call or contact the family again.

That was the end of my Mom’s story that we knew. But armed with this new information I made one final phone call to my father.

No answer.

Ten minutes later I realized I had three missed phone calls, he already knew, he never tries that hard.

‘What?’ My fathers response when I finally got ahold of him, it was only 8:00 pm. He had no reason to be this angry, but again he knew already what was coming.

‘I found Aunt Cheryl’ I said with a smile
‘Oh? And what did she say?’ He said with the contempt you would expect from the man

‘The same thing I’ve been saying, that you’re not the person you tell people you are.’ I replied
‘You don’t know anything, until you have a PHD after your name I don’t want to hear it.’ He was practically yelling at this point

‘HAHAHAHA.’ I couldn’t help it, it was just so funny.

‘Never call me again.’ My father said, the anger dripping off every word
‘HAHAHAHA!!’ It was the only thing I could do in reaction, laugh like a madman.

‘Don’t you dare ever talk to me.’ He continued ‘You don’t know what you’re fucking talking about.’ Then the click, he hung up.

I was still laughing.

That was the last conversation I would ever have with the devil, my father. It’s amazing how one person can ruin someone’s whole reality.

16 responses to “Weekly writing challenge: Backwards, The last conversation

  1. I’m glad you found your mom. Fear and mental illness can be a terrible burden and she might have come to believe that she was not a fit mother.

    No matter, with the past sorted, you can move on.

  2. Wow, just wow. this is really another moving story from you! so glad you found these things out so you can move on from them. this is just, wow, no words. thank you for sharing ♥

  3. Pingback: Weekly Writing Challenge: ‘Backward’ – The Boy and The Girl | 3rdculturechildren·

  4. Pingback: staying grounded | Musings of a Random Mind·

  5. Pingback: Weekly Writing Challenge: Backward: Heart’s Desire | MythRider·

  6. Pingback: Weekly Writing Challenge: Backward – The Funeral | SERENDIPITY·

  7. Pingback: Weekly Writing Challenge: Backward | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss·

  8. Pingback: Liathara – The Lord, His Army and the Dragon | Jake Kuyser·

  9. Pingback: Weekly Writing Challenge: Backward | Joe's Musings·

  10. Pingback: Weekly Writing Challenge: Backwards | Megan Elizabeth·

What are your thoughts?

