Being what I’m not

I’ll never be an Astronaut, big surprise I know. I’ll never be a political contender, you’ll never be able to buy a Vote Gabriel for president pin. There will never be a billboard with my picture on it, telling you to buy my product because it will change your life [it really will!].

We were all taught that if we want be successful we need to do better than our parents did. That is the measure of success, the amount of money you have in the bank or how famous you are.

I don’t agree with that idea. Don’t get me wrong I would love more money as much as the next person, we are wired that way, we always want more. But when push comes to shove and you leave this earth, even if you believe in life after death you won’t be taking anything with you.

People are so obsessed with living longer because they are afraid of dying. I think people don’t see the big picture, sure death is scary, anytime you have no control over something it can be very frightening. But people should be more worried about leaving behind a legacy.

I think death is only scary because you are worried that you will be forgotten. I think the measure of success then should be what you leave behind, the contributions you make to your fellow man.

I will never have my own TV show, there will be no Gabriel network or G magazine by Gabriel. But I do think that I will do better than my parents. They set the bar low, yes. But even still I will set it high for my children.

One day in the future, I will be a foster parent, maybe adopt, or something else entirely. But I will, even if it is only briefly, give children the gift of hope. Hope for a better life, my Uncle gave that to me and I want to pass that one on.

No, I may not have a mansion, maybe one day, but not today. I may not be a famous actor, I don’t really ever want to be one anyway. But what I am is someone who wants to change the world, to make a mark on it and help as many people as I can.

I’m tired of focusing on what I am not. For today, maybe even for just this moment, I want to focus on what I am. I want to focus on what I want to be.

I may never be a great actor, but it won’t stop me from being a great man.

8 responses to “Being what I’m not

  1. Pingback: Flying On Empty Thoughts | (Day #7) All That’s Inspirational·

What are your thoughts?

