Back to the future?

back to the future

Everyone has regrets, my wife spent a whole month dedicated to the subject with weekly guest posts on her blog. With all the letters to a younger self, I had to think, why?

Why do we want to go back into the past and warn ourselves of our current present, is it really that bad? I mean you made it, why bother with a letter to your 15 year old self?

Just to give you hope?
Did you really need it if you made it up to now?

Instead, to be a little different, I wonder what it would be like to know the future. To know if my dreams were to become reality or, if instead turn into my nightmares. How will my marriage look five years from now? How about ten, twenty, even fifty years in the future?

What if I could, somehow communicate with my future self and see what pitfalls could be avoided; mistakes to be learned from, before they ever happen. What could I do with that information? What if I knew when I was going to die, would I be more reckless with my life?

Or would I just win the lottery and retire somewhere?

I don’t know what 5 years from now holds, much less 5 minutes from now [although I am pretty sure that it involves some of my wife’s tasty lemon bars that are fresh out of the oven, YUM!].

Maybe the meaning of life isn’t where we are going, but the adventure of getting there.

When I met my wife, I knew that she was the one for me. I am happily married and despite the stress of loving someone that completely, I would not change it for the world. Even if I could see the future and it ended horribly I would still not give up the minutes I get with her for anything.

I’ve taken a mini-break from life, mostly to spend time dreaming of the future. I look forward to the day Loony Labs is fully functioning; in it’s own building, to the day when my wife wants something on a whim, we can make it happen, and of course to the day, in the not so distant future, when we have children.

Dreaming about the future is a wonderful thing, I think it is what makes us unique as animals on this planet. But dreaming about the future is a lot like dwelling on the past.

It’s good to know where you have been and how far you have come. It is even better to know where you are going, but it’s never about where you start, or even where you finish. We all know were we started, we were born. We also know how the story ends, we all die.

It’s about all the stuff in between.

I don’t know what my life will look like in the future and if I could know, I couldn’t promise I would turn down the chance to find out. But I do know that when I look at my wife it doesn’t matter so much about the future or my life in general. Because for that moment, I am just glad to be alive.

2 responses to “Back to the future?

  1. I think we write letter to our younger selves not because we need to change the past, but because it was so damn lonely back then, that it would have been nice to have a friend.

    Let’s have babies. Lots and lots of babies.

What are your thoughts?

